12
Jul
13

A NIGHT WITHOUT THE KIDS? SHUT. UP.

Last night The Wife and I had something we—and many parents—don’t get enough of.

A grown-up night out!

IS this how you ruin art? Put my mug in front of it?

IS this how you ruin art? Put my mug in front of it?

My cousin was in town for her wife’s art show (you can check her fantastic work out here) and we were invited to the opening (although it’s technically been open since late June).

Kids were not invited (technically—as always there were some there) but we hadn’t really considered bringing them anyway. Alpha Tween is a good sitter so we knew we could attend without having to entertain Omega Child, who would have had fun for about ten minutes and then started complaining about standing.

So I joined my wife at Penn Station, then headed into Chelsea for the show. I don’t get to see my cousin much at all (last time had to be five or six years ago) as we don’t get out to Portland where they live often and they can’t make it out here a lot.

My parents were there, along with my brother and sister in law and aunt.

Afterwards, we went to a late dinner with my brother and his wife.

At some point during the evening it occurred to both of us that we could do this more often. It’s not like we intentionally limit ourselves, but I think subconsciously we don’t plan nights out because we’re busy and we aren’t used to leaving the kids alone.

There’s a pub down the street from where we live but we’ve only gone once or twice. As we walked to catch a train home, The Wife turned and said “We really should go down for a drink more often.”

And she’s right, there’s no reason not to.

We had a fantastic night last night, enjoyed some great art, talked with family and enjoyed each other.

At some point you have to start putting your life back in gear. I don’t mean work, I mean stuff you and your husband or wife used to do for yourselves.

Mmmmm tasty.

Mmmmm tasty.

I find we put that on hold sometimes without realizing it.

As parents, our kids will always be a high priority. However we need to be a priority as well.

If you’re staying home with the kids and/or working from home, your job isn’t easy. My job is no less challenging than my wife’s because she’s out of the house more.

However I can, as the stay-at-home dad, arrange things so we can get out. Set things up so she can just come home and we can take off.

I can make that happen and it’s vital, I think, to do more of it.

So that’s my pledge: to get more things moving, us out of the house and make things easy for her to say “yes, let’s hop down the street/grab dinner/see a movie.”

As a stay-at-home dad, it’s easy to focus on just the kids.

Sometimes I have to remember to make sure I focus on the marriage just as much.

Hey, are you following Dad Moon Rising on Twitter or Facebook? Why the hell not?

0 Responses to “A NIGHT WITHOUT THE KIDS? SHUT. UP.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email for updates right to your inbox by magical email fairies named Ted and Sammy.

Join 222 other followers

What I’m Into:

Reading: Dead Beat by Jim Butcher Listening to: The Heist, Macklemore Watching: Damages

