17
Jul
13

Cutting the Cable Cord

So when we moved coasts (West to East), we decided to cut the cable cord.

Actually my wife wanted to, while I was more reluctant.

Four years later, I don’t miss it much and as it stands she was once again right.

Being in a beach house with cable reminds me jut how little I miss it. Seriously, how much crap I don’t want to watch can you produce?

Lots, apparently.

We do Netflix, Hulu and Amazon Prime streaming and while we miss some shows live (especially ones we get into late), those are few and far between. Not to mention the fact that we get to watch when we want to watch.

With DVRs, streaming and other techie goodness, that’s the way of the future and frankly, Hollywood and the Cable Companies are just spitting in the wind as they try to prevent it.

The only issue has ever been sports, but there are a ton of ways around that, not the least of which is heading to a bar.

The added benefit of cutting the cord has been that the kids are less inundated with ads, resulting in less bouts of MEMEMEMEMEMEMEMENEEDNEEDNEED that seem to happen when they have full TV for a week.

I don’t think they miss it. Hell, Alpha Tween started the vacation week pushing to go to the beach and specifically said he didn’t want to watch TV.

Not to say he hasn’t or won’t just that he wanted to do not watch.

Sometimes they get caught up in screen time with the Ipad or streaming anyway, but we’ve reduced it a bunch and will continue to especially during school.

I used to think we might be rare freaks for this, but turns out we aren’t.

This past weekend we went into Queens for a friend’s 4oth birthday and I met multiple people who had done the same. It was really surprising.

As a country, we appear to be pretty attached to our televisions, but that seems to be changing. People are cutting back on their cable and spending less and less money on it.

Now, it doesn’t mean we aren’t over-wired because, well here we are on a blog while I am on vacation and I’ve been on Twitter all day as well. We’re still pretty attached to our “stuff”.

However, we can and do control how and when we (and our kids) watch. The trick is to fill that non-screen time with activity – be it hunting for turtles like we did this afternoon or reading (our kids, thank goodness, are avid readers) or a million other things.

Do rather than watch. Not all the time but more often.

Computer games and screen time is fine. Sometimes, though, we let it take over our lives, especially television.

I’m thankful for Netflix, Hulu and the rest. For streaming sports when NBC gets around to airing the Olympics. For all the different ways we can get content delivered to us when we want it versus when “they” say we can have it.

For the chance to take control of our lives and choose to do other things.

I’m actually pretty happy we cut the cord, so much so that 99% of the time I don’t even think about it.

It’s nice to know that, apparently, we’re not alone.

I’d be curious how many of you don’t have cable or, even if you do,how much more you watch online than live. Let me know in the comments.

I’m off to the beach for a bit.

Hey, are you following Dad Moon Rising on Twitter or Facebook? Why the hell not?

2 Responses to “Cutting the Cable Cord”


  1. 1 Chris
    July 17, 2013 at 3:30 pm

    The biggest struggle I have with this is missing out on live sporting events. You weren’t specific in your post about how you handle that, maybe that’s going to be tomorrow’s post? The hardest part for me is missing out on NFL games. PS. On a seperate note your recent article about fantasy football sleepers was great. Thanks for thinking outside the box a little bit.

    • July 17, 2013 at 6:19 pm

      Definitely something I was going to go over closer to football season, though I was spoiled last year since I watched the games in studio. That is a bitch I have had to work around though – again, will talk about it in August.

      And thank you very much for the other praise – hard to find sleepers or anyone else people aren’t thinking of. Glad I hit a few for you.


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email for updates right to your inbox by magical email fairies named Ted and Sammy.

Join 222 other followers

What I’m Into:

Reading: Dead Beat by Jim Butcher Listening to: The Heist, Macklemore Watching: Damages

