22
Jul
13

I AM NOT READY TO BE AN EMPTY NEST DAD

So the kids are gone to grandma and grandpa’s for the week (we call them GG and Pop Pop) which leaves me with a quiet and empty house which stays that way until my wife returns from work.

Now, maybe it’s the fact that after being virtually carb and sugar free for several weeks, I indulged on vacation at the beach a few times last week.

And then had some delicious cake at the Professor’s birthday. And then pizza that night.

I might have had a few sodas on Saturday as well.

Which, on a side-note, made it really hard to sleep that night because I was caffeine free longer than two weeks.

Anyhow, all that sugar and stuff does odd things to my brain which is always doing odd things on it’s own without any help, thanks. So it could be that I’m super-wonky anyway.

But I really, really miss the boys and have since they left.

Saturday night.

It may also be partly because, as I mentioned this morning, I might have some other semi-radical life changing junk going on (nothing bad). So add that the lack of sugar….. thus madness, thus kablooey.

Is there such a thing as “pre-empty nest syndrome”?

It’s funny though because, if this is just me missing the kids—and frankly, I go through this every time they’re gone for a week at a time—what the hell is college going to look like?

I mean for the love of all that’s holy, what kinda mess am I going to be?

Seriously.

It’s a long way off, I know. And I have a good bond with my kids. I really can’t worry all that much about them leaving for college because they will always be around for us.

That’s the bond you want, right? You train them to like you and hopefully they come back and visit in the rest home, maybe play a little Wii-Old Person-Version.

It’s just weird not having them home and not seeing them for stretches at a time.

Which all just goes to show you that two slices of cake and several cans of soda in a day will wreak havoc on my brain.

Such as it is.

Hey, are you following Dad Moon Rising on Twitter or Facebook? Why the hell not?


2 Responses to “I AM NOT READY TO BE AN EMPTY NEST DAD”


  1. July 24, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    That’s so weird. I’ve been feeling the same way lately. My 16-yo just left for summer camp, and, in her absence, I couldn’t help but imagine all the levels of sorrow I am going to feel when she leaves for college in just two years. I think you might really enjoy my recent story I wrote about this:

    Lessons from Summer Camp: Good-Bye, Love Ya’, Don’t Text Me

    • July 24, 2013 at 4:46 pm

      It’s nuts how hard it is – they can be pains to be around but as soon as they’re gone it’s like “hold up, WHAT WILL I DO NOOOOWWWWWW???”
      Hang in there. We’ll get through this together.
      Also thanks for sharing the post – good stuff.


Leave a comment


Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email for updates right to your inbox by magical email fairies named Ted and Sammy.

Join 215 other subscribers

What I’m Into:

Reading: Dead Beat by Jim Butcher Listening to: The Heist, Macklemore Watching: Damages